Matt Archer's Blog

  • New Book

    I'm working on a new book. View the home page for the 'Tips for manual testers working in an agile environment' book
  • Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Subscribe

SIGiST Testing Conference – December 2009

Posted by Matt Archer on December 12, 2009

It’s surprising how quickly time flys.  It feels like just the other day that I was sitting in the audience of the December 2008 SIGiST conference and here I am giving an update of December 2009!

In my opinion, the best talk of the day was by Steven Ramsay who spoke about overcoming various obstacles to set up a testing practice at LinkLaters.  What I liked about Steve’s talk was that it was a description from the front-line, worts and all.  Steve suggested at the beginning that he was feeling nervous, but it didn’t show.  When it comes to creating the programme for the 2010 conferences (11th March, 29th June, 16th September and 8th December), I’ll certainly be voting for him to come back and give us an update.

Another good talk was by Martin Gijsen.  Martin spoke about how to make use of a Domain Specific Test Language (an advanced form of keyword driven testing) to increase the maintainability of automated tests.  I use a similar technique for my own automation so it was nice to listen to somebody who shares my ideas.

For me, my attention now shifts to the publication of the March edition of The Tester.  I’m always on the lookout for good articles.  If you have an article you believe would be suitable, feel free to email me.

Leave a Reply

